Doctoral Colloquium

Doctoral Colloquium (DC) is a sneak peak into multiple possible futures of participatory design. It brings together current PhD students exploring diverse topics related to participatory design, at various stages of their studies across the world, and provides students with a safe and open space to discuss what matters to them concerning their studies, and collaboratively seek ways to address them. In 2020 The PDC-DC will be held 100% on-line.

Chairs: Jesper Simonsen (Roskilde University – DNK); Helena Karasti (University of Oulu – FIN / University of Siegen – DEU); Jaz Choi (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology –  AUS)

Tutors: Vicenzo D’Andrea (University of Trento, Italy), Daria Loi (Newcastle University, Australia), Leonardo Parra Agudelo (Universidad de los Andes, Bogotá, Colombia)


This year, we are opening up the process of DC to our participants to co-design and co-create the experience. Self-organised smaller groups, along with their assigned mentors, will be engaged in various activities online using different communication and collaboration tools to find ways forward individually and collectively as a community. On the day of the DC, we will all come together as a group to share our experience and envisage the future of participatory design together.


1-15th June: online self organized group work

15th of June: Colloquium convenes online


List of the participants:

Isaac Arturo Ortega Alvarado, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), NO

Marcelo Vianna Batista, Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos (UNISINOS), BR

Jessica Cheers, Queensland University of Technology, AU

Lieve Custers, Hasselt University, BE

Nana Kesewaa Dankwa, University of Kassel, GE

Kate Ferguson, RMIT, AU

Aakash Gautam, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA

Sophie Glazik, Sheffield Hallam University, UK

Laura Gottlieb, Mälardalen University, SW

Stefan Hochwarter, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), NO 

Jessica Jacobs, IIT Institute of Design, Chicago, USA

Gwen Klerks, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL

Sandjar Kozubaev, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Fiona Lambe, Linköping University & The Stockholm Environment Institute, SW

María Laura Ramírez, Koc University, Istanbul, TR

Jenna Mikus, Queensland University of Technology, AU

Kaajal Modi, University of the West of England, UK

Giannis Misiakos, Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne, AU

Serveh Naghshbandi, University of British Columbia, CA

Edgard David Rincón Quijano, Universidad de Caldas, Manizales, CO

Diana Salazar, University College London, UK

Floris van der Marel, Aalto University, Helsinki, Finland and Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne, AU

Marisol Wong-Villacres, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA and Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral, EC

doctoral colloquium